Millions watched in stunned horror after football player collapsed

I usually have my posts queued up a couple of weeks in advance, but I’m publishing this impromptu second post today as an ad hoc response to the unusual circumstances connected to last night’s Monday Night Football game.

I am a bit of a sports fan and do follow my favorite teams in several sports. Last night, I was casually watching the first quarter of the Buffalo Bills vs. Cincinnati Bengals National Football League game with the intention of going to bed at half-time. The Bengals were ahead 7 to 3 and driving downfield when Bills’ safety, 24YO Damar Hamlin, was involved in a tackle. He subsequently stood up and then collapsed on the ground. I initially thought it was a concussion, but the stand-by ambulance was summoned and the Bills, Bengals, and the 65,000 fans at Paycor Stadium watched in horror as EMTs began CPR on Hamlin, who had gone into cardiac arrest. My wife was shaken and asked that we pray for the young man. The ambulance subsequently transported Hamlin to the University of Cincinnati Medical Center, but his status wasn’t announced. Both teams opted not to continue the game after the incident. This morning, I checked the news and Hamlin’s condition is categorized as critical.

I’ve been watching football for 53 years and I’ve never seen a situation where a player was injured and on the brink of death and the game was suspended. This puts things in perspective, doesn’t it? When a person is teetering between life and death, a sports game is trivial in comparison. We all face death. It’s inevitable. The Bible says death is the consequence of man’s sinfulness. Not only is there physical death, but there is also eternal separation from God in hell. But “God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life” – John 3:16. Jesus Christ, God the Son, came into this world to die for our sins on the cross of Calvary. But Jesus didn’t remain dead. He rose from the grave, defeating both sin and death, and offers the free gift of eternal life and fellowship with God to all those who accept Him as Savior by faith alone. Won’t you trust in Jesus Christ as your Savior today?

Last night, death stared Damar Hamlin and millions of viewers in the face. I pray Damar recovers. Has he accepted Jesus Christ? Have you trusted in Jesus Christ as your Savior by faith alone? Death is coming. It’s only a matter of when. Accept Christ.

https://www.gotquestions.org/sinners-prayer.html

27 thoughts on “Millions watched in stunned horror after football player collapsed

  1. Great post, Tom! 🙏🏻❤️
    Maybe I’m being , I don’t know, the correct word so I’ll just say this: I have heard a lot of people saying they are praying (not to Who) -and they are saying there is a lot of power in or through prayer ( but not power in God through Jesus Christ when they pray)… know what I mean? I know there are many that are praying to God through Jesus-such as we are-but just saying. If you don’t approve of what I just commented please do not post it-not looking for an argument just saying.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Thank you, Beth. I watched the football broadcast for about an hour after Demar collapsed and as the broadcasters struggled to fill time, there were many, many references to nebulous “prayer” for the young man. The event and the many references to nebulous prayer motivated me to write this post about mankind’s very real sin dilemma and the only genuine cure, Jesus Christ.

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks, David! Yes, I do remember Gathers. Hard to believe it’s been 33 years. I was curious so I checked Gathers’ Wiki article which said he had a ventricular tachycardia arrhythmia, the same thing I had 22 years ago. It’s fatal most of the time. When medication could no longer control it in 2010, they performed laser ablation surgery on me and I haven’t had a problem since.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks, David! I felt the symptoms while playing a softball game and a friend rushed me to emergency. One nurse shot me up with heart-slowing meds while another nurse watched me and the heart monitor while clutching defibrillators in her hands. I’ll never forget the look on her face. Probably the strangest experience in my life. Yup, praise God!!! I’m so grateful for the last 21 years with my family. I was minutes away from death. My doctors were amazed I didn’t die when they saw my EKG after the fact. Sorry, but I couldn’t resist piggybacking on your Gathers comment after I learned what he died from.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have spent untold hours on this. Also gives me a better understanding of how everyone will be able to witness the 2 witnesses of Revelation. Life is short and we are not guaranteed tomorrow. I do hope this will lead people to the real Jesus and not the “he gets us.” Praying for Hamlin, his family and for Tee Higgins as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Mandy. Yes, it looks like around 15 million people on average watch a MNF game meaning a lot of people sat there stunned last night thinking about mortality. Yes, I’m praying for Hamlin and his family and good suggestion re: Higgins. He has to be feeling very poorly.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment