Just in time for summer – Clam dip!

Thank you, Lord, for delicious food, all in moderation of course!

An accoutrement staple of backyard summer dining is potato chips and dip. One of my family’s favorite chip dips used to be a New England clam dip manufactured by a local cheese company named “Heluva Good” of all things. For some reason, Heluva Good stopped making its clam dip in the early aughts (2000s). Some said it was because of new FDA regulations.

My hankering for clam dip grew and grew until I finally started searching online for a clam dip recipe that was similar to Heluva Good’s. I found the one below several years ago. It’s a pretty close facsimile and very easy to make. Any time we serve it to guests they always rave about it. I could eat a whole bowl of clam dip with wavy chips in a single sitting all by myself, but my arteries clog up at just the thought of it.

p.s. Heluva Good was headquartered in Sodus N.Y. but was bought out by food conglomerate HP Hood in 2004 and like most things in New York, production was eventually moved out of state. It’s also interesting that the slang term, “one hell of a…” is used to connote something that’s either very good or very bad. The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms says the phrase (or “one Devil of a…”) has its roots in the second half of the 1700s.


New England Clam Dip Recipe

  • 1 6.5 oz. can chopped clams
  • 1 6.5 oz. can minced clams
  • 1 8 oz. package cream cheese – allow to reach room temperature
  • ½ tsp. minced garlic
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1 and ½ tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 dashes Red Hot or Tabasco sauce
  • ¼ tsp. paprika
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 pinch black pepper
  1. Drain clams, reserving ¼ cup clam broth. Put drained clams aside.
  2. Mix cream cheese with hand-held electric mixer until smooth while adding clam broth, garlic, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, paprika, salt, and black pepper.
  3. Add clams and mix together with a spoon.
  4. Cover and refrigerate for six hours
  5. Sprinkle the top with some additional paprika before serving.

Enjoy/Smacznego/Mahlzeit!

25 thoughts on “Just in time for summer – Clam dip!

    1. My wife says the same. It’s funny but our dog will eat pretty much anything but will scurry away when I open a can of clams. Some people (and dogs) just don’t know what’s good.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I’ve listened to Todd Friel quite a bit and I like him a lot although some may not care for his theatrics. As for Kirk Cameron and Ray Comfort, I know they’ve done some good stuff but they’re also a bit on the ecumenical side, which is always a concern for me. Friel doesn’t go the ecumenical route at all. Have you been following them on Sirius?

        Liked by 2 people

      2. No…my trial on it expired and I haven’t added my work truck to my account. But, I have dowloaded MP3s and plan them from my phone via the bluetooth in the truck. I may write a post on it LOL.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I used to listen to him a lot on podcast back when I carried an MP3 player while I worked. Kind of cool to be able to listen like that again. As far as the post, nothing deep, just my mindless rambling about technology as I have nothing else on the burner, really.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You can’t go by Wally because there’s no such thing as clams in North Arkansas. Pigs, yes. Clams, no. This clam dip is a tiny, tiny bit of Heaven right here on Earth!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I stand corrected, Wally. I guess I was presuming too much about AR. The best fried clams I ever had were in Gloucester, Massachusetts. They were Ipswich whole belly clams. Oh, the best!

        Like

      2. Well, it’s hard to picture, but I could eat breakfast at home, and then be at numerous places on the Gulf of Mexico in time for supper. It’s only 6 and a half hours to New Orleans from me.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. My nephew works at Tulane. One of these days I would like to get down there. The Bourbon Street revelries don’t appeal to me but I know there’s plenty of other stuff to see and do.

        Like

      4. We usually get down there once a year, as we like to cruise and that is an easy place to embark from. Other than that, I don’t feel a need to go down there to tell the truth.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m thinking there’s a strong possibility it would be a Bourbon St. drink fest if I went down, knowing my relatives. Not my cup of tea.

        Like

  1. Yes! love clams, from the little ones I found on the Jersey shore in June – opened, rinsed, and ate them standing in the surf – to Mom’s clam dip and steamed clams in drawn butter, to clams on the halfshell! Does anyone remember Johnny Weissmuller (Tarzan) battling a giant clam?

    Want to try this recipe, Tom!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maria, I sadly do not remember Tarzan battling a giant clam! What a hoot!

      Maria, I love clams, too! I can vividly remember the first time we had them. My Mom was not an adventurous cook, strictly meat an potatoes, but as my older sisters took over the cooking responsibilities, things got interesting. Our primo downtown department store, Sibley’s, had a gourmet food department. You could order a big clam bake pot stuffed with clams, salt potatoes, and corn on the cob. My oldest sister ordered one and that was my introduction. I think I was in 7th or 8th grade. Been hooked ever since. I’d be interested to know if you try the recipe!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

