10 Really “Uncool” Things About Being Catholic

In the article far below, Catholic bishop, Thomas Tobin, cites the following ten items as “really cool” things about being Catholic, but in actuality they’re just about all unbiblical and spiritually toxic:

  1. Confession – God’s Word says salvation is by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone. Go to Jesus in prayer and trust in Him as your Savior. Going into a dark box and confessing sins to a priest is unscriptural. No man can forgive sins. The Catholic confessional box was often used by predatory priests to initially lure their victims. Priests were required to probe older children and young adults with embarrassing questions about sexuality to ensure they gave a full, “good” confession. Any potential pitfalls with that arrangement? See here.
  2. The Rosary – The standard rosary is made up of 59 beads. When a Catholic prays the rosary they say 53 “Hail Mary” prayers to Mary and 6 “Our Father” prayers to God along with a few other prayers. God’s Word forbids prayer to any entity other than to Him. It also forbids multiple rote prayers.
  3. Popes – Nowhere in the New Testament is there any mention of a pope. In contrast, Jesus strictly forbade the kind of ecclesiastical hierarchy that developed in the institutional Roman church (Matthew 20:20-28).
  4. Saints – The New Testament refers to saints as all those who have accepted Christ as Savior, not a super-holy class of people as Rome invented.
  5. Relics – Nowhere in the New Testament are believers instructed to venerate physical objects.
  6. Processions – As priests parade a large bread wafer alleged to be the actual body, blood, soul, and divinity of Jesus in a sunburst container called a monstrance, the Catholic faithful bow down and worship it. This is unmitigated idolatry.
  7. Blessings – Priests and bishops are alleged to have been ordained with the ability to endow people and objects with powerful blessings.
  8. Music – Gaudy liturgical ritual with its accompanying music defined “religion” for most older generation Catholics.
  9. Guilt – Yup, God’s Word says we are all sinners, but Catholics can never find spiritual peace in Christ because they’re on a religious treadmill and no matter how much they do or how good they try to be, it will never be enough.
  10. A Sense of Humor – I went through twelve years of Catholic education and I can attest to the fact that MANY priests, nuns, and brothers did NOT have a sense of humor. Often those troubled souls were cold and hurtful.

10 Really Cool Things About Being Catholic
http://www.thericatholic.com/stories/10-really-cool-things-about-being-catholic,8977

12 thoughts on “10 Really “Uncool” Things About Being Catholic

  1. I went back into the catholic building for a memorial mass for my husbands sister after I had been convicted then freed of the practice of Catholicism (another un-cool thing about this practice-paying their “church” money to pray for people that have already passed. $$$! ). That is the last time I went back in. As they prayed the Our Father Prayer all I heard was dark, mumbling, NO WORDS! Just mumbling! I could NOT wait to get out of their. That was over 7 y+ years ago. I can’t even go back in for a wedding…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth. I attended a Catholic mass a couple of years ago as part of a wedding. It grieved my spirit intensely to sit there with all of that anti-biblical stuff going on. The mother of the bride, the one who invited us, mixes Buddhist and New Age beliefs and practices with her Catholicism, which seems to be par for the course these days.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh, wow! As Maria and Sherry know I seem to be in a constant struggle on going back in that building for a wedding or funeral. I go to the wakes and dinners but just feel convicted of going back into their building and hearing all the idle chatter. It is so dark to me now!
        I wonder if I will be disobeying The Lord by going in…will family and friends think I agree with them if I am there? I know if I don’t “participate” I am not agreeing….I just don’t want all that stuff and prayers cluttering my mind.
        It is difficult because we have ALOT of family and friends that practice and I DO love them. Wondering if
        Luke 14:26 applies here:If any man come to me, and hate not his father, and mother, and wife, and children, and brethren, and sisters, yea, and his own life also, he cannot be my disciple.
        How can we disciple if we are sitting “with” them?
        Could you help me understand that?
        Thanks, Tom!

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Well, Elizabeth, I think we each have to follow the Lord’s leading on things like this. There are those who would argue to never enter into a Catholic church, and I understand and respect that viewpoint, but there is unbelief and paganism all around us and being “in the world but not part of the world” is not going to be the same for each Christian in every situation. For myself, I can attend family weddings and funerals officiated by a priest (or liberal unbelieving minister) and not participate in the liturgy but pray for those in attendance and be there as a show of support for loved ones. My wife has witnessed often to the friend I mentioned before who invited us to her daughter’s wedding, and the occasion was another opportunity to deepen the friendship and continue witnessing for Christ. I can truly understand those who advise never to enter into a Catholic church building ever again, but I believe we can use such opportunities for good and even storm the very gates of hell to reach out to our friends and family. But here’s a personal twist. We have witnessed to our unbelieving eldest son MANY times who is in a long-term live-in relationship. We anticipate his Catholic girlfriend will want their daughter (our granddaughter) to go through Catholic religious training and the first communion ceremony thing. Because in this case our son knows so much about our stand on the Gospel and against Catholicism we think it would be better if we didn’t attend the ritual or following celebration when it comes to that. Yet we attended our grandson’s first communion in Germany last year because the circumstances were different (we rarely get to see him and his family) but we did use the occasion to witness for Christ. Sorry for the long answer but I think the bottom line is the Spirit will lead you on this and the leading may be different depending on the circumstances.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Please do not apologize. I appreciated the time you took to answer honestly! God is good and there seems to be a “fine line” to all of this…or is it just me? I know that whatever I end up doing I want it to be for God’s glory. It is not about “me” it IS about HIM and what I do I would want it to honor His Majesty. ❤

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Tom and Elizabeth, because I felt uncertain about what to do with my Catholic family’s events I’ve been grateful that we live at a distance from my family, not wanting to attend Mass. When my Catholic Mom passed away I’d told her I couldn’t call for and attend a funeral Mass for her. We had our Pastor do a grave-side committal because she did truly profess that Jesus Christ was her Saviour, and on her headstone we had the verse that speaks of the saints coming to life and reigning “with Christ for a thousand years.” May the Lord give us all the wisdom we need!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Maria. Yes, the decision on whether to attend a non-Christian religious ceremony is always difficult. Most Catholics don’t really believe in the detailed doctrines of their church anymore and view these weddings, funerals, first communions, baptisms, etc. more as rites of passage than holy sacraments. Our son’s Catholic girlfriend had her daughter from a previous relationship go through the whole first communion/first confession rigmarole but they never attend mass. Yes, may the Lord lead us in these difficult issues.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

