Weekend Roundup – News & Views – 5/20/17

Catholic apologists like to present their church as a unified monolith compared to Protestantism’s 30,000 denominations (their mythical number), but many conservative Catholics eagerly anticipate the end of this current pope’s tenure. There once was a day when the notion of an American president visiting the pope at the Vatican would have been unthinkable.

Speaking of unpopular leaders, readers of this blog know I generally try to stay away from politics and nationalism, but it’s time to address the elephant in the middle of the room. Over the course of my life, I’ve witnessed eleven American presidents (I only vaguely remember Ike so I didn’t count him). Some were better than others but a lot of that depended on the crisis at hand. The last four months have only confirmed my earlier assessment of candidate Donald Trump as a junior high school bully in a business suit, totally lacking the temperament, statesmanship, and personal decorum required of the office. It’s a disturbing situation unlike anything I’ve seen in sixty years. He’s prone to blame a hostile media, but Trump continues to shoot himself in the foot week after week with his poor judgement and rash behavior. But our trust is in the Lord. We must continue to pray for all the leaders of this country so that we can live in peace so that the Gospel can continue to be proclaimed. That’s our bottom line, fellow sojourners. Presidents come and presidents go but the Lord God Almighty, our King, remains on His throne.

I admire the Duggar sons-in-law for throwing cable-tv etiquette to the wind and speaking the truth about Catholic error. That kind of courage has been sadly lacking in evangelicalism, which is why we now have the sheep partying with wolves, totally unaware.

The intervention of the Argentinian police is too little, too late. Where were the public safety officials of the past when North and South America were dotted with of convents, seminaries, and monasteries full of inmates/residents who were encouraged or forced to practice “self-mortification,” not to speak of the sexual abuse that proliferated throughout those institutions?

The Jews had the complete Old Testament without benefit of any church council declarations. How did that happen? No, the church didn’t give us the Bible, the Holy Spirit did. A wise man has compared the relationship between church councils and the Biblical canon to Sir Isaac Newton and gravity. Newton didn’t invent gravity, he merely described the force that was already in place.

Catholics flock in droves to every new claim of a Marian apparition. The alleged apparitions at Medjugorje, Bosnia-Herzegovina have been ongoing for 36 years, which is very unusual according to standard apparition protocol. The “Blessed Virgin” of Medjugorje is also reported to have said some things that aren’t exactly in agreement with orthodox Catholic teaching, so the hierarchy’s not on board, but they don’t shut down the ride because the zeal of the pilgrims is good for business.

Catholics dedicate the month of May to Mary. I can remember being in Catholic grammar school and every year all the children filed into church on May Day and crowned the statue of Mary with a ring of flowers. The nuns always selected the prettiest, most popular eighth-grade girl to do the crowning. I think I had a crush on each of them starting around when I was in fifth grade. Like everything in Catholicism, May Day was all about pomp and ritual and had nothing to do with a relationship with Jesus Christ.

Any illusions about America being a “Christian nation” should have been buried years ago.

Hopefully, this debate between evangelical apologist, James White, and Catholic apologist, Peter Williams, will be on-line soon. Mary would be so sad to see how people have replaced the Gospel of salvation by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone with worshiping her.

If anyone has an idea of how to make the dead, boring liturgical ritual of the mass inviting and actually relevant to spiritual health, give the U.S. Catholic Conference of Bishops a call.

Interfaith dialogue and unity are completely unscriptural. Nowhere in the New Testament can you find any basis whatsoever for Christians embracing pagan religions as legitimate pathways to salvation. Scripture teaches faith in Jesus Christ as Savior is the ONLY way to salvation.

17 thoughts on “Weekend Roundup – News & Views – 5/20/17

  1. Reblogged this on I ONCE WAS LOST and commented:
    “Interfaith dialogue and unity are completely unscriptural. Nowhere in the New Testament can you find any basis whatsoever for Christians embracing pagan religions as legitimate pathways to salvation. Scripture teaches faith in Jesus Christ as Savior is the ONLY way to salvation.”~ Amen and Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. “Interfaith dialogue and unity are completely unscriptural. Nowhere in the New Testament can you find any basis whatsoever for Christians embracing pagan religions as legitimate pathways to salvation. Scripture teaches faith in Jesus Christ as Savior is the ONLY way to salvation.”
    Modern day Tower of BABEL trying to be built!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. You have to hand it to Francis. He’s done a tremendous job of building upon JPII’s efforts to solidy Rome’s leadership of the interfaith and ecumenical movements.

      Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks for the kind words, Hope! We have much to be grateful for. I think on the weekend summary posts I allow myself to “rant” a little more than usual, probably because it’s story after story of heresy and/or betrayal.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for reading! White’s an entertaining and informative debater. I think my favorite is Larry Wessels from Christian Answers. He can get a little smug like White, too.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Good mornin slimjim.
      I don’t know anything about the debate between White and that catholic guy.
      But isn’t White a Calvinist? I know he puts down the king James bible.

      Good mornin to you my friend. 😃

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hey Slimjim,
        I just want to say that I’m not casting stones at Christians who happen to be Calvinistic. Please accept my apology if I was offensive to anyone.
        I’m not sure if White believes in limited atonement or not.
        It’s just hard for me to root for a perspective that limits Christ’s atonement as the alternative to roman catholicism. I don’t subscribe to any systematic theology.
        So please forgive me if I offended you. That certainly wasn’t my intention my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Brother Lee,
        No offense taken. I am a Calvinist myself but I am not offended as I don’t think that’s your intention at all. Brother I believe I saw your comment on Wally’s page where you mentioned you are from the South. What state are you from? I am a Southern California guy, who appreciate things Southern especially from those I know and served with in the Marines.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Thank you for easing my mind. I’m genuinely relieved that you weren’t offended at me. Thank you.

        Hey, I’m a hick from Texas.
        The upper gulf coast area, the Houston area. 😃

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Nice! When I was younger I spent a few weeks for a boot camp in Harlingen Texas but that’s more South from where you are at; it’s by the Rio Grande Valley. Glad to meet you brother Lee, hope to have more brotherly interaction on the blogosphere.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

