Curious minds want to know: Are blessings transferable?

Catholics are taught that their priests are endowed with unique powers to bless material objects. When a priest blesses an object he allegedly imparts spiritual qualities to the item, which then bestow physical and spiritual benefits to the owner. Catholics bring their religious objects like rosaries, crucifixes, candles, medals, scapulars, prayer books, and statues to their parish priest for his blessing. Once an item has been blessed by a priest, it is considered to be a “holy” sacramental. A sacramental that is no longer wanted or is in poor condition may not be disposed of in the trash but must be buried or incinerated. Catholics also arrange for their priests to bless non-religious items like their houses, cars, and boats.

Today I was listening to the 5/12/17 podcast of the “Calling All Catholics” talk radio show (The Station of the Cross, WLOF, 101.7 FM, Buffalo, NY) featuring moderator Mike Denz and priest host, Dave Baker, taking questions from the listening audience and there was an interesting query about priestly blessings:

Mike Denz: We have a question about blessings from one of our listeners who emailed in. It starts off, “If your car has been blessed and you sell it, does the blessing expire or end with the new owner?”

Priest Baker didn’t sound all too sure in his response but conjectured that the blessing upon the car and anyone who travels in it remains intact even after the transfer of ownership UNLESS the new owner does something “to kick the blessing out” by being involved in a way of life that is “completely out of synch with the spirit of Christ.” Baker admitted that he wasn’t sure in such a case if the blessing leaves immediately or gradually fades away over time.

Denz then referred to the second part of the same listener’s question, which asked why the mandatory rule regarding burying or burning of unneeded or worn out blessed religious objects doesn’t also apply to unwanted homes, cars, boats, motorcycles (or airplanes, farm tractors, space shuttles, nuclear submarines, etc.) that were also blessed?

Priest Baker got a condescending chuckle over that one and patiently explained that religious objects are blessed and “consecrated” as items used in worship while blessed dwellings and vehicles aren’t consecrated and therefore don’t have to be ceremonially disposed of.

Is your head spinning yet? All of these teachings and regulations about blessings are man-made and nowhere to be found in the New Testament. Come out of ritualistic religion and accept Jesus Christ as your Savior by faith alone.

11 thoughts on “Curious minds want to know: Are blessings transferable?

  1. Huh? You know, when my step son was the moderator for the evening service at our church I would fill in if he wasn’t there for some reason. I had trouble remembering the things I had to say LOL. I could never keep track of all of those rules!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s funny, Wally! Some people really thrive in ultra-structured systems. In the case of Catholicism, the clergy is absolutely essential but even they can’t remember all the rules and rubrics.

      Like

      1. Well, I do like structure, Tom. It appeals to me greatly, and I tend to be a follower of rules. If I do rebel, I never rebel by just disobeying; I full force oppose. Ask my boss LOL.

        The downside is that, honestly, legalism appeals to me a lot.I had a tendency when first saved to look for the “rules.”

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tom, I am going to share something here I have never told a soul. Now, I suppose the entire world will know LOL.

        This happened my first year of college, and frankly God didn’t interest me much, or at least that was my story. At any rate, I took a History of Religion class, just to meet a requirement, and I love history. At any rate, we all took a trip to a Monastery in NE Arkansas, Subiaco is the name. They are Benedictines. When I heard the life those guys lived it instantly appealed to me, and without even knowing a thing about God, or Jesus, or anything…I seriously considered doing it. I mean the whole deal. I didn’t even know what it would entail, I just knew I wanted….something. Imagine that, me a Benedictine Monk!

        My young life was extraordinarily chaotic, and I craved order and structure, I guess. Plus I am sure even then God was reaching out to me.

        Thank goodness I just joined the Army instead, because that was the next thing I found. I was in a very loose, liberal Arts college, but some guy from the nearby State School came and visited, and I joined the reserve almost that very day, went back to Little Rock to the UA there, ROTC, and the rest is history. That’s providence; God put the Army in my way to keep me from finding what I wanted in a bad place. Even then, He had to wait almost 30 years.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Wow, Wally. That’s interesting. Thanks for sharing. I’m happy for you that you didn’t go the Benedictine route. I think when religion was generally more accepted in this country and before the news of pedophile priests came out, people really admired the Catholic clergy for the discipline that was required. I myself dreamed of being a parish priest when I was 9 and 10 but then I discovered girls. Looking back from this vantage point it’s interesting to see how the Lord was working in our lives. Of the six kids in our family, why was I the only one who “felt the urge” to buy and read the Bible?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes..exactly. I found those men and their lives very admirable. Studious, hard working, and all of that. Girls huh? Well, it was a girl who got me in church at the age of 45. God is NOT clueless; he knows how to work.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It seems that the principle that when you tell a lie, you have to tell more lies to cover that first lie. I think its true with false teachings that are speculative; you have to invent more speculative false teachings to cover, explain and “solve” the first doctrine. How true is it displayed in this instance.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right, Jim. If you press them about all the possible contingencies the whole thing falls apart like in this case. I enjoy chasing down these rabbit holes because they’re just so ridiculous.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah. Good job chasing them down and posting it. There’s so much intricate details I didn’t know about Catholicism that I learned from reading your blog. Keep it up.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, Jim. I’m still learning about the detailed intricacies of Catholicism. Even priest Baker wasn’t sure about the question of blessings being transferable, which is why Catholicism employs a large stable of canon lawyers.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

