Diets RARELY work but this one does!

Have you ever struggled with losing weight? Have you tried fancy diets and expensive gym memberships but nothing seems to work? I’d like to share with you my very simple, inexpensive, and proven method of losing weight, which I call the “Sal’s Birdland Diet.” Why Sal’s Birdland? I’ll get to that at the end.

Doctors define “obesity” as a body mass index (BMI) of 30 or over. Calculate your own BMI here. Researchers tell us 36% of Americans are obese so this is a real problem in our country. We eat too much bad food and get too little exercise. When I visited my doctor three weeks ago, my BMI was 30.2. (height 5’10.5”, weight 213.6 lbs.). Because of my weight, I’m at a seriously increased risk for many illnesses. Heading into the stretch before retirement, I need to be more conscious of my health and I determined it was time for me to get serious about losing weight.

My goal is to lose 33.6 lbs. and get down to 180 lbs. and a BMI of 25.5. That’s classified as “Overweight” but it’s real close to the upper limit of a “Normal” BMI for my height which is 24.9 BMI at 176 lbs.. Health experts say losing 2 lbs. a week is a healthy rate of weight loss so I’m shooting for a weight of 180 lbs. by August 9th, 17 weeks from the start of my diet on April 12th.

Losing weight is not rocket science although companies make billions yearly off of overweight people with complicated fitness and diet plans. The simple equation is (exercise)+(eat less)+(monitor)+(rewards) = weight loss goal.

Exercise

Our miraculous bodies like to hang onto those undesirable fat cells as preferred fuel for a “rainy day,” so we have to “trick” them into releasing those fat cells as fuel by revving up our metabolism with aerobic exercise. My son gave me a fit-bit last summer and my daily goal is to walk 10,000 steps (five miles) a day. That’s very achievable because the hallways in the building I work at are very long. If I walk briskly to the end and back it’s around 1600 steps. If I do that twice a day and also walk our dog for twenty minutes when I get home I end up with around 10,000 steps total with all my other extraneous walking. Just buy a fit-bit or an inexpensive pedometer and a pair of walking shoes with good support. That’s all you need. Expensive gym memberships and equipment aren’t necessary.

Eat less and better

No need to get complicated. Simple works just fine. I’m cutting back on my portions and trying to eat more healthy stuff (fresh vegetables and fruits) and staying away from fat, sugar, salt, and carbs. No junk food. Limited processed foods. I’m also drinking lots of water.

Monitor

To stay on track I’m weighing myself daily and marking my weight on my calendar along with my daily steps. Some people advise not to weigh yourself daily because of the inevitable ups and downs but for me it works. The scale is now my friend!

Rewards

Thirty-four pounds is a lot to lose so to motivate myself, I’ve broken it up into doable increments of 11.5 lbs. Each time I drop 11.5 lbs. I’m going to treat myself to a verySSS unhealthy chicken dinner at Sal’s Birdland. That’s comprised of a small half-chicken fried in oil until crispy, served on sliced white bread, and smothered in Sal’s signature “Sassy” sauce with two sides of mac salad (my mouth is watering as I type this). See photo above. Hence the name, “Sal’s Birdland Diet.” If a Sal’s chicken dinner doesn’t get you motivated, NOTHING will! What’s that you say? You live too far from the two Sal’s Birdlands here in Rochester, N.Y.? That’s a real shame but it’s not an insurmountable problem. Just substitute your favorite junk food meal.

I’ve already lost 7 lbs. to date, which is a good start. I’m now at the high end of the “Overweight” BMI weight range rather than “Obese.” People are already starting to mistake me for Fred Astaire instead of Dave Thomas! At this rate I should be enjoying the first of three mouth-watering Sal’s chicken dinners in only two more weeks. I followed this diet before about seven years ago and achieved my goal. The problem was keeping the weight off over the long-term. But more about that in a month or two. For now it’s one step at a time to reach my goal of 180 lbs.!

Thank you, Lord, for my daily bread (and more)! Now please help me to stop being a glutton.

I hope you achieve your weight-loss goal. Drop me a line and let me know how the Sal’s Birdland Diet is working for you!


Is gluttony a sin? What does the Bible say about overeating?
https://www.gotquestions.org/gluttony-sin.html

How should a Christian view weight loss? What does the Bible say about obesity and weight loss?
https://www.gotquestions.org/Christian-weight-loss.html


http://www.salsbirdland.com/

5 thoughts on “Diets RARELY work but this one does!

Leave a Reply

