“That’s like when the scoffers said, ‘Even God can’t sink the Titanic'”

Tree

I’ll admit it, I’m an old fuddy duddy and I like my routine. Up at 6:00 a.m. Off to work at 7. Home at 5 p.m. Then there’s dinner, some reading, devotions with my wife, a little channel surfing, then lights out at 10. But sometimes the Lord throws us a curveball.

This past Wednesday, my wife and I were watching the morning news and they cautioned that strong winds were expected later that day. We have many oak trees on our lot and many large branches of our neighbors’ oaks hang over the lot line as well. My wife is a worry wort and the weather report put her over the edge. We’ve already removed three trees that were close to the house. I reassuringly told her not to worry. “It’ll be 50 years after we’re dead before one of those trees comes through the roof,” I said.

Well, I arrived at home after work Wednesday afternoon and things looked okay from the driveway. But when I walked around to the back of the house there was a huge branch from my neighbor’s oak resting on our roof along with a fair amount of damage (see photo). Argh! Our entire neighborhood with its many trees was hit hard in the windstorm that wreaked havoc throughout the entire county. I filed a claim with the insurance company and we went out to dinner because there’s nothing else to do at 6:00 p.m. when the power is out.

While we were sitting in the restaurant, our son called my wife’s cell to see how we made out. She told him what I had said about the trees not coming down until after we were dead, and our agnostic/atheist son said that was kind of like the scoffers who said even God couldn’t sink the Titanic!

Well, I wouldn’t put this in the same category as the Titanic but praise the Lord our self-confessed agnostic/atheist son is thinking in spiritual terms!

So power remains out two days later and it won’t be back anytime soon. 100,000 homes in the county are still without power. The average daily low temperature over the next 10 days is forecasted at 20-degrees. Because the wind damage was county-wide, I don’t anticipate the tree removal crew for awhile. And then there’s the repairs on the home that need to be done.

Praise the Lord no one was hurt in the entire county.

I thank the Lord we have a fireplace in our basement.

I thank the Lord for this little setback, which puts things in perspective. We’re to lean on the Lord in all things. He’s our Rock, not our circumstances or our cherished routines. Challenges in our life reveal what (or Who) we’re trusting in.

“Rejoice always, pray without ceasing, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” – 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

p.s. My access to the internet will probably be nonexistent over the weekend so I won’t be able to post or read postings from others. Have a nice weekend!

17 thoughts on ““That’s like when the scoffers said, ‘Even God can’t sink the Titanic'”

    1. Thanks a lot, John, for the prayers! Power finally came back on last night and the trees were removed this AM. Now it’s just the house repairs and that will take awhile because the contractors are swamped. I’m praising the Lord today for heat and light!

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Glad you guys are OK… Could have been much worse! Don’t ya hate when things mess up the ole daily routine? Think that’s the most aggravating part of it all! Hope things return to normalcy soon. (Would this be a good time to send you guys greetings from (80 degree) Florida?) Sorry… the Devil made me say that! BTW… this would be a really good time to ask your bride if she would like a skylight! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the laughs, Hope! Power came on last night and the trees were removed this morning. Getting the house repaired will take awhile. I just got done nailing a tarp over the roof damage. That’s no job for an old guy! After five days of huddling in front of a fireplace, I really appreciate heat and electricity. Thank you, Jesus! But of course that pales in comparison to having a Shepherd I can always count on!

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks a lot, Jim! Power came on at 7:30 pm last night and the trees were removed this am. Repairs on the house will take awhile. My wife and I are still thawing out but we really appreciate the heat and light! The Lord gets us through all the trials, big and small.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Yes, praise Him! My wife was staying at a friend’s and when she came home and saw the power was back she wanted to do a devotion time. That is a memory I’ll always cherish.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, schwester! A few bumps in the road as we journey through this world and the Lord will always see us through! Got power last night at 7:30 PM and the trees were removed this AM.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Wally! Power came on last night and the trees were removed this AM. I just got done nailing a big tarp over the roof damage because the repairs are going to take awhile. Yeah, my wife and son will never let me forget what I said but I anticipate using that “foot in my mouth” to gently preach the Gospel to him every once in awhile.

      You may not believe this, Wally, but I was actually thinking about you a few times during the whole experience. The first floor in our house was a chilly 30 degrees but we spent most of the time in the basement with a fireplace going non-stop, but even with that it was only 50 degrees if you stepped 10-feet from the fire. I slept with a hat on every night to keep the top of my head warm and thought to myself, Wally wouldn’t even need a hat with that furry woodchuck camped out on his head! Yes, the frigid cold does strange things to a person’s mind.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Thanks, Wally!!! Yes, that’s right. We’re still recovering from last Wednesday and BAM!, 10 inches of snow in the next two days. I nailed down the tarp over the roof damage as tightly as I could. But thanks for the heads up!

        Like

Leave a Reply

