Is it OK to eat Chicken in a Biskit crackers on Fridays during Lent?

It’s the first Friday of Lent so Catholics are instructed by their church they must abstain from eating any meat today or they will pick up a mortal sin that will doom them to hell. But how exactly does the church define “meat”? It’s not as simple as you might expect. Here’s a post from a year ago that examines the intricacies (and impossibilities) of attempting to follow a legalistic religion.

excatholic4christ

This morning I was listening to the 10/30/15 podcast of the Calling All Catholics talk radiocb show on The Station of the Cross, 101.7 FM, out of Buffalo, New York. “Father” Dave Baker was taking questions, assisted by moderator, Mike Denz.

One of the listeners had a question regarding the church’s rule on abstinence from meat on Fridays during Lent, which I thought was quite timely because we’re currently in the Lenten season. Because the Catholic church absolutely forbids meat on Fridays during Lent, any Catholic who defiantly consumes meat commits a “mortal” sin and is doomed to hell for eternity unless they confess the sin to a priest.

But the rule’s not always as cut and dry as a juicy rib-eye steak or a succulent pork chop. The listener wanted to know if the ban on meat even included something like beef bouillon. “Father” Dave suggested that beef bouillon was probably okay to eat…

View original post 519 more words

10 thoughts on “Is it OK to eat Chicken in a Biskit crackers on Fridays during Lent?

    1. Thanks, Maria! Yes, the whole thing is an exercise in futility. Many Catholics in our area will go out to dinner tonight and order a fish fry but many of the restaurants will be frying the fish in oil containing lard, and others in vegetable oil that was used to fry chicken, etc., etc., etc. So silly.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Just a comment, not intended to say anything deeply theological…when I was growing up, all of my friends in my little neighborhood were Catholic. They were also always the nicest kids to me in my class at school. I was awed that they knew what they were going to have for dinner every Friday evening! It was so incredibly unreal to me! “How do you know that?!?” (Okay, I was a goofy kid, but still you get the point, right?) Anyway, I was also just totally amazed when they showed me this medals, like the one for St. Christopher. I remember that one very well. Anyway, thanks for a nice chance to revisit some old memories. That all this comment was about. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You bring up a good point, John. Some Catholics would see the meat abstention as a “positive,” a chance to demonstrate their religion concretely and set themselves apart from non-Catholic society. I see the whole thing as futile works religion but I know you weren’t making a theological statement.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. And you know, I did sort of feel a “separation” from my friends in my neighborhood in my elementary school days. Though they never did anything to make me feel that way. They never had the attitude that they were somehow better than me, so that was good! I don’t think that their parents had a “them” vs. “us” attitude, but I can definitely see how man’s rules can cause separations and worse. For me, I’m just praying that all of my friends from those long ago days wherever they may be are ones who “worship God in spirit and in truth.”

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

