“Keep Calm and Carry On”

In the course of his sermon yesterday, our pastor used a visual that I’ve seen a few timeskc on the internet: the “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster. Maybe you’ve seen it, too? The British government printed up millions of copies prior to the start of the Second World War as a morale booster but they were scrapped in favor of other posters with different slogans. Rare copies of the “Keep Calm…” poster came to light in 2000 and it’s become an internet sensation (see far below for a link to the history of the poster).

The poster strikes a chord for those of us who know the Lord, doesn’t it? The crown at the top signifies our King in Heaven. Despite the chaos, the calamity, the evil, the sadness, and the terror we see around us in this world, we know our King is on His throne. He is our Peace and our strong tower. Our mission is to go into all the world and proclaim the Gospel. We’re not to get caught up in the cares and concerns of this world. We’re not to give up in this spiritual battle. We’re not to give any opportunity to the enemy. As the rising popularity of this poster testifies, those who don’t know the Lord are desperately searching for the kind of peace that we have in Jesus Christ.

“Keep Calm and Carry On” on behalf of our King. That’s a pretty good message for us Christians.

“Be still, and know that I am God. I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth!” – Psalm 46:10

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.” – John 14:27

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Keep_Calm_and_Carry_On

10 thoughts on ““Keep Calm and Carry On”

    1. I enjoyed learning about that historical tidbit myself! Thanks for the kind words. BTW, I listened to your Ray Comfort video today and liked it a lot. Thanks! I’m going to send it to my two sons.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

