“The Unfinished Reformation” now available to order

Last night I happened to be browsing on Amazon and I noticed a castbook on my wish list that I had been eagerly anticipating had just been published, so I immediately ordered my copy. The book is titled, “The Unfinished Reformation: What Unites and Divides Catholics and Protestants After 500 Years,” by Gregg Allison and Chris Castaldo. See information at Amazon here.

I’ve reviewed books by evangelical theologian, Allison, and evangelical pastor, Castaldo, previously. The approach these gentlemen take in critiquing Catholicism is a bit unsatisfying. Compared to hard-hitting defenders of the Gospel like a John MacArthur or a James White, some (including myself) might say Messrs. Allison and and Castaldo are a tad too gracious with respect to Catholicism’s unbiblical doctrines and ignoble history. That being said, I warmly welcome any new book from a major “Christian” publisher, like Zondervan, which critiques Roman Catholicism and affirms that church does not proclaim in its standard theology the Gospel of salvation by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone.

After fifty years of determined ecumenism, the sad reality is a large number of evangelicals have tossed doctrine out the window and embrace Roman Catholics faithful to their church’s teachings as Christians because, oh, they “love Jesus, too.” But the Catholic gospel of sacramental grace and merit is not the Gospel of grace through faith. Most of today’s TBN-watching, prosperity mega-church-goers have no clue what the Reformation was about and don’t wish to know. For them, Christianity is a “feel-good” tonic and is primarily about being healthy, rich, and happy as well as inclusive and tolerant (see Joel Osteen, Creflo Dollar, Kenneth Copeland, Joyce Meyer, Hillsong, Passion, etc.). For that reason, this book is a timely and very necessary resource.

I’ll be reviewing “The Unfinished Reformation: What Unites and Divides Catholics and Protestants After 500 Years” in a few weeks, but here’s an early review from one of my favorite bloggers, Tim Challies:
http://www.challies.com/book-reviews/the-unfinished-reformation


Postscript: Resources on Roman Catholicism – From postage stamps to the internet

I came out of Roman Catholicism and accepted Jesus Christ as my Savior back in 1983. The independent Baptist church we began attending had an information table, which always had a stack of the latest issue of “The Sword of the Lord” newspaper. The “Sword” had quite a following back in those days and I devoured those reprints of John Rice’s and Charles Spurgeon’s sermons. There were several advertisements in the paper from para-church organizations including ministries to Roman Catholics: Mission to Catholics headed by ex-priest, Bart Brewer, Christians Evangelizing Catholics directed by Bill Jackson, and The Conversion Center headed by Donald F. Maconaghie. I was so happy to be able connect with those ministries. They were such a great blessing to me at the time after having come out of Catholicism. The Conversion Center continues to minister although I don’t endorse its KJV 1611-only stand.

In this era of the internet, we are blessed to have so many resources available to us that uphold the Gospel and critique Roman Catholicism in comparison to Scripture. See my Links page here. See my Books page here.

6 thoughts on ““The Unfinished Reformation” now available to order

      1. Yes, I’m equally surprised at Zondervan. Castaldo’s last book, Talking With Catholics About the Gospel, also from Zondervan, even made it to the shelf of our local Christian book store. I was absolutely stunned! The one copy sold (or was removed) and never restocked.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

