The Ruth-a-thon continues!

In the Field of GraceFOG
By Tessa Afshar
Moody Publishers, 2014, 290 pages

I’ve mentioned before that Ruth is one of my favorite books of the Bible. Very briefly, Ruth, a Moabite widow, travels to Bethlehem with her Jewish mother-in-law, Naomi. She works in the fields of Boaz, a family relative. Boaz takes notice of Ruth and assists and protects her. After a period of time, at Naomi’s instruction, Ruth claims Boaz as her kinsman-redeemer. Boaz is more than happy that Ruth has claimed him and sets about to resolve all the details. The couple is married and has a son, the grandfather of King David.

This is such a sweet, sweet story. It brings me to tears every time I read it. It’s such a wonderful typology of sinners coming to Christ and accepting Him as their Savior and Redeemer.

My wife and I are currently studying through the Book of Ruth. As in all my Bible studies, I’m using MacArthur’s one-volume Bible commentary, McGee’s Thru-the-Bible commentary, Unger’s Bible dictionary, and Zondervan’s Strongest concordance for additional reference. These tools are a great help in studying the Bible.

I had bought “In the Field of Grace,” a novelization of Ruth, several months ago and I thought it would be a great time to read it while we were studying the Bible book. Afshar does a nice job of following the story of Ruth and Boaz and filling in with some fictional characters and story elements here and there. Some work better than others. Overall, I was pleased. It turned out to be a nice supplement to our Bible study. The past week has definitely been a Ruth-a-thon at our house!

I get the impression that not too many Christian men are reading these Bible romance novelizations. But I don’t have any qualms about it. Throw pride out the window and enjoy my brothers!

4 thoughts on “The Ruth-a-thon continues!

    1. Thanks, Jim. I’ve read two Bible romances, this one and a story about David and Bathsheba. I agree, the author is potentially free to take the story to some unorthodox places. A reader must be discerning, but that’s the same caution for using Bible study resources. What I really enjoyed about the two books was the way the authors brought to life the daily routines, manners, and customs of the Israelites back in OT times.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

