I’m Catholic and I believe my good outweighs my bad

 

There are currently about seventy-million people who identify as Roman Catholics in the United States. If you could ask all of them, “How does a person get to heaven?,” you would get a very wide range of responses but I would be willing to guess the most popular answer would be something like, “A person’s good must outweigh their bad.” Roman Catholicism teaches Jesus Christ died for sins but also teaches He established the sacraments to administer grace to Catholics so they could obey the Ten Commandments and church rules and become increasingly sanctified (holier) so they could merit heaven at the time of their death. The church also teaches those outside the church can merit heaven if they “follow the light they are given” and are “good.”

Only a small percentage of Catholics can actually articulate their church’s intricate theology but the overriding belief is clear – “good” people go to heaven and “bad” people go to hell. Naturally, most Catholics believe that they’re good enough to get to heaven. After all, they haven’t killed anyone or cheated on their spouse or live-in partner.

Of course, none of the above is the Gospel found in God’s Word. We’re all sinners and we all deserve eternal punishment. But God loves us so much he sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die for our sins. Jesus rose from the grave, defeating sin and death, and offers eternal life and fellowship with Him to all those who repent of their sins and accept Him as their Savior.

Above is a six-minute video of evangelical apologist, Ray Comfort, witnessing to a typical Roman Catholic who believes he’s good enough to merit heaven. This gentleman speaks for tens of millions of lost Roman Catholics in America and hundreds of millions more throughout the world.

2 thoughts on “I’m Catholic and I believe my good outweighs my bad

  1. Great post, Tom! I remember being at a county fair once and a pastor at a local church booth asked me do you think you’ll go to Heaven? I said, yes of course. He wanted me to explain why and I told him that I had accepted Jesus Christ as my Lord and Savior and prayed for forgiveness, repented of my sins and chose to follow him forever. He was astounded that I knew the only way to Heaven was through Jesus. I was astounded, much like watching this video that people think the way to get to Heaven is to do good works or be a “good” person. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Carlene! Of course the official teaching of Rome is that Catholics must completely obey the Ten Commandments and church rules, but the average Catholic in the pew knows that’s impossible so they’re just hoping that their “good” outweighs their bad on God’s scale. Funny that you were astounded by the “good people go to heaven” philosophy. Coming from that philosophy, I was completely astounded by the Gospel of grace. Great blessings to you as well!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

