Deception Calling

Several months ago, a person gave a book to my sister-in-law titled, “Jesus Calling,” byJC Sarah Young. My wife asked me about the book but I wasn’t familiar with it other than I had seen it prominently displayed at the local Christian bookstore. I did a little digging and found out that Ms. Young claims Jesus visited her and gave her alleged direct revelations which she recorded and compiled into this “devotional.” Say what? Are you kidding me!?!? Young qualifies her revelations saying they aren’t inspired, infallible, and inerrant like the Bible and yet she claims they are messages given to her directly from God. So why wouldn’t they also be inspired, infallible, and inerrant? They’re either from God or they’re not.

But many Christians have no problem with Young’s supposed messages from God. The publisher claims “Jesus Calling” has sold more than 16 million copies since it was first published in 2004. There’s a large segment of evangelical Christianity where many people claim to receive direct revelation from the Lord. “The Lord gave me this message to give to you” and “The Lord revealed to me that He desires for you to do (such and such).”  The flesh being what it is, I’ve noticed those claiming to be a modern-day prophets tend to “lord it over” those without the “gift.”  Catholicism has many examples of this kind of supposed direct revelation including the popular “Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska.”

Don’t get me wrong. I feel the leading of the Holy Spirit every day. There are times when I feel the Lord wants me to do something and there are times when I feel the Lord leading me away from sin. The Holy Spirit regularly uses God’s Word to direct me. But God doesn’t put His thoughts in my head to write to paper as He used the writers of the books of the Bible!

This is a bad precedent, folks. Every misguided and deceitful snake charmer can claim Jesus is speaking to them through direct revelation. There is only one Word of God. Call Young’s book a “devotional.” Call it what you want. I call it garbage. Jesus is not writing any books through Sarah Young or anyone else. Throw it in the refuse can where it belongs. I see there are now a very large number of “Jesus Calling” spinoff products. It’s become quite a large “cottage industry” for Ms. Young.

“But evil men and impostors will proceed from bad to worse, deceiving and being deceived.” – 2 Timothy 3:13


Book Review on The Jesus Calling
https://carm.org/book-review-jesus-calling

10 Serious Problems with Jesus Calling
http://www.challies.com/articles/10-serious-problems-with-jesus-calling

3 thoughts on “Deception Calling

Leave a Reply

