I love pope Francis!

Organizer, Nick Hall, anticipates one million people will gather at the National Mall inPappy Washington D.C. on July 16th to participate in his “Together 2016” event, which is being billed as “a day of unifying prayer.” This is an ecumenical event that will feature people of various denominational stripes. Pope Francis won’t be attending personally but he will be providing a video address to the crowd.

You thought you would never hear me say it, but I love pope Francis. I certainly do. He’s a sinner like all of us and he needs to accept Jesus Christ as his Savior. Francis leads a 1.3 billion-member religious organization that teaches salvation is by sacramental grace and obedience to the Ten Commandments (impossible!) and church rules. Not a Catholic? No problem. Francis says people of all religions and even atheists can merit Heaven if they “follow the light they’ve been given” and are “good.” The only problem is none of the above is the Gospel of salvation by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone.

I love Jorge Francis Bergoglio. I pray that he accepts Jesus Christ as his Savior someday. I’m so sorry that he is leading hundreds of millions astray by teaching that people must earn their salvation by participating in his church’s sacraments and by “cooperating with grace.” I’m sorry for ecumenical events like “Together 2016,” where “well-meaning” evangelicals water down and compromise the Gospel of grace so much that it’s no longer the Gospel. I pray for all those who attend “Together 2016,” that they will hear the genuine Gospel from SOMEBODY at the event and will accept Christ as their Savior.

This could be a discouraging time for evangelical Christianity but the Lord is still on his throne and forever will be.

“I have set the Lord always before me; because he is at my right hand, I shall not be shaken.” – Psalm 16:8

Together 2016 aims to unify 1 million Christians in prayer on National Mall

7 thoughts on “I love pope Francis!

    1. Thanks so much, Andi, and bless you too! The Lord has been moving me to be more gracious. I’ve been posting on this blog for close to one year and I have to admit I haven’t prayed once for Francis in all that time. But that wasn’t an oversight. Francis was the enemy and I wasn’t going to pray for an adversary. But the Lord put it in my heart this morning to pray for Francis today and every day.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Hi Tom – another Tom here who is also an ex-catholic. Liked your article and the title caught my eye as well. It is easy to hold grudges until we remember the inconvenient fact that Jesus died for us while we were His enemy. I will be praying for Jorge as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

