Hold my hand

My wife and I are so blessed to have three grandchildren, ages 17, 9, and 4. Our 9 year-HHold is in Germany so we don’t get to see him often but the two girls are here in town and we see them a lot. Last Sunday afternoon, our son dropped our 4 year-old granddaughter off for us to babysit. She wanted to see “Zootopia” – again – so we drove across town for the 4:30 showing at the 2nd-run theater. We parked the car and I helped her out of the car seat. Before we started to walk across the parking lot I said to her, “Hold my hand,” and she obediently put her hand in mine without hesitation.

While she held my hand, our granddaughter was completely safe. I carefully scanned the parking lot for any approaching cars. Nothing was going to happen to our granddaughter while she was with me. No harm was going to befall her. If I had to sacrifice myself to throw her out of the way of a runaway car, I would have done so without even thinking about it, just like any grandparent would.

Holding our granddaughter’s hand reminded me of our relationship with the Lord. He calls out to us to cling to Him for safety and security. He holds onto us and will never let us go. He laid down His own life for us so that we would be free from the penalty of our own sin. Let’s cling to Him as a young child grasps their parent or grandparent.

My parents used to hold my hand across busy streets when I was a young boy, also. But as I grew older, I began pushing my parents’ hands away. I was a big boy. I could take care of myself. I didn’t need their protection. As children of the Lord, we often think we can handle situations by ourselves. We don’t cling to the Lord and seek His guidance and protection. We try to “handle” things by ourselves, oblivious to the spiritual battle that rages around us.

Let’s soften our hard hearts and run to the Lord our Father as little children and throw our arms around His neck and cling to Him in all that we do.

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and he will establish your plans.” – Proverbs 16:3

“When I am afraid, I put my trust in you.” – Psalm 56:3

“Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” – Psalm 91:1-2

7 thoughts on “Hold my hand

    1. Thanks Hope! Our granddaughter has complete trust in me, she does not hesitate to place her welfare in my hands. She didn’t know it but she preached a sermon to me.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. This is excellent. It’s funny, my daughter doesn’t want to hold my hand sometimes because she wants to be independent… usually I tell her that I want to hold her hand because I love her and it changes her mind. Seems like how we are with the father. Great analogy. I am going to think about this every time I walk hand in hand with my kids. Thanks so much for the idea.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

