Resting in His arms (sigh)

Yay! It’s Memorial Day weekend! This weekend we somberly remember the unsavedLambCuddling and saved men and women who defended this country at the cost of their lives. What a sacrifice! I’m also reminded of the One who also gave His life so that we could go free spiritually.

“(Jesus) gave himself for our sins to rescue us from the present evil age, according to the will of our God and Father” – Galatians 1:4

Memorial Day weekend is also the unofficial start of summer and many will be happily toiling in their gardens. It’s a long, three-day weekend; an opportunity to rest and relax. I’m reminded of the great rest we have in the Lord for those who accept Him as Savior.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” – Matthew 11:28-30

This weekend I recall the story of the Israelites who wandered in the wilderness for 40 years because of their sin and unbelief. God did not permit their leader, Moses, a symbol of the Law, to lead His chosen people into the Promised Land. God chose Joshua/Yeshua/Jesus to lead His people into the land of rest.

The only One who could satisfy the requirements of the Law was Jesus Christ, God the Son. And He died on the cross to pay the penalty for your sins. His perfect righteousness will be imputed to you if you will only repent of your sins and accept Him as your Savior by faith. When you accept Jesus Christ as your Savior you’ll enter into God’s great rest. No more trying to merit your way into Heaven. No more trying to earn your salvation. You can finally find your rest in Him.

“He made Him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in Him.” – 2 Corinthians 5:21

That’s not to say that after you accept Christ everything will be a breeze. We will have trials and sorrows in this world. We will disobey the Lord often as we attempt to follow Him. But the sinner’s greatest struggle, finding forgiveness and acceptance from a Holy God, will be satisfied through Jesus Christ. Peace and rest. Peace, rest, and great joy!

Are you resting in Him or are you still struggling to merit your own salvation through religion or by trying to be good?

I am soooooo grateful to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, for saving me and leading me to eternal peace and rest. He’s my Shepherd. He knows me. I follow Him. Praise Him! Praise Him! Praise Him!

“You will keep in perfect peace those whose minds are steadfast, because they trust in you.” – Isaiah 26:3

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” – John 16:33

13 thoughts on “Resting in His arms (sigh)

  1. I really wanted to point out some great things I loved about this post but if I did I’d have to copy and paste the whole thing haha. This was great so inspiring and a great way to look at memorial day I never thought of it in this way. Thank you for teaching me something. My memorial days will have a special dedication to Jesus from this day forward!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

