Download ESV Bible for free

I really like to get good things for free so I’m happy as I write this post.ESV

As I related in my last message, I do my daily Bible reading out of the New American Standard Bible (NASB). The NASB is known to be one of the most literal, word-for-word translations of all the modern Bible translations. Some critics say the NASB is a bit stilted and does not flow easily because of its literal approach but I personally don’t have enough experience with other translations to make a comparison and I’ve always enjoyed using the NASB.

I’m nearing the end of my current read-through of the Bible and thought I might use the English Standard Version (ESV) when I start at Genesis 1:1 again. I see this version is also noted for taking a word-for-word approach, but in more fluent and colloquial English than the NASB.

“Then I saw thrones, and they sat on them, and judgment was given to them. And I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded because of their testimony of Jesus and because of the word of God, and those who had not worshiped the beast or his image, and had not received the mark on their forehead and on their hand; and they came to life and reigned with Christ for a thousand years.” – Revelation 20:4, NASB

“Then I saw thrones, and seated on them were those to whom the authority to judge was committed. Also I saw the souls of those who had been beheaded for the testimony of Jesus and for the word of God, and those who had not worshiped the beast or its image and had not received its mark on their foreheads or their hands. They came to life and reigned with Christ for a thousand years.” – Revelation 20:4, ESV

Actually, not too much difference.

Anyway, I searched on Amazon.com for an ESV to download to my Kindle, and found that Crossway offered one for free! See here. Yes, I always like to get good stuff (and nothing is better than God’s Word) for free!


What are the different English Bible versions?
http://www.gotquestions.org/Bible-versions.html

10 thoughts on “Download ESV Bible for free

  1. Downloaded this more than a year ago to my Kindle–I actually like it! I’ve always chosen NIV, but since ESV was the only free offer, I didn’t have a choice–and I’m glad to have it! There’s a beauty and power in the language they use, like if someone reads from it I would turn my head to listen. English is not my primary language, but that’s how I ‘feel’ about the ESV version. Have a blessed day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the like and the endorsement. The ESV seems to be gaining in popularity among faithful evangelicals. I’m looking forward to using it in my daily devotion time. Have a blessed day too!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Wally. I see more and more conservative evangelicals are using the ESV. I expected to pay at least $10 so it was nice to get the download for free.

      Like

Leave a Reply

