Light amidst the darkness on the bookshelves

I’ll admit I’m a bit of a book worm. I think I picked up that trait from my Mom, which wasAAA1 reinforced by growing up with five older sisters. I could always shut myself up in my room with a good book to escape the monumental estrogen battles being waged just outside my door.

We have a Christian bookstore not too far from us and also a Barnes and Noble with a very large section of Christian books. It’s very rare that I actually buy anything from either store. Most of the offerings are pure garbage. The number of books about pope Francis on the shelves at the Barnes and Noble is ASTOUNDING. But I like to browse through the stores to see what people are chasing after. Yes, there’s always a large offering of Joel Osteen’s and Creflo Dollar’s and Sarah Young’s books. Ach! The rubbish Christians are filling their heads with!

Anyway, yesterday I was doing my weekly walk-through at B&N and I spotted a brand new book, “Rescuing The Gospel: The Story and Significance of the Reformation” by Erwin W. Lutzer. This definitely looks like a good one, folks, and I bought it. For those who don’t want to read an academic treatise on the topic, this illustrated book looks to be a very reader-friendly primer. Review to follow somewhere down the road.

Recommendation on the back cover:

“At the Reformation’s five hundredth anniversary, Erwin Lutzer reminds us not only why the Reformation is one of the most significant events in Western history but also why it still holds important lessons for the church today. As Lutzer demonstrates in this book, the theological convictions of Luther, Zwingli, and Calvin need to be recovered as an antidote to the watered -down gospel proclaimed from many Protestant pulpits in our day. Every Protestant needs to recognize the incredible theological debt we owe to the Reformers. Let this book introduce you to their lives, their ministries, and, most importantly, their theology.” – R. Albert Mohler Jr., president of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary

Seeing as next year is the 500th anniversary of the Reformation, I imagine we’ll be seeing a number of additional new books about the subject. We Christians take our Reformation heritage much too lightly. Praise God for the men and women who stood up to Rome and endeavored to return the church from legalism and ritualism to the Gospel of salvation by God’s grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone. What a glorious uprising! Talk about Holy Spirit powered! We get to go to a Gospel-preaching church every Sunday with a Bible tucked under our arm without even giving it a thought but millions of men and women paid with their blood so we could have those privileges and blessings that we treat so casually.

I hear a very good book about the Reformation that’s already out there is “The Unquenchable Flame: Discovering the Heart of the Reformation” by Michael Reeves. That one is definitely on my must-buy list. Reeves’ new book, “Why the Reformation Still Matters,” will be out in September. Yes, the Reformation mattered in 1517 and it still matters today. Rome would like everyone to believe it was all a big misunderstanding and that we should all just forget about it. But I accepted Jesus and came out of Catholicism because someone (actually many) gave me the Gospel. And someone gave them the Gospel. And someone gave them the Gospel. All the way back to the Reformation (and even before). Praise God! Thank you, Lord!

AAA12AAA3

 

5 thoughts on “Light amidst the darkness on the bookshelves

    1. LOL. Yes, it’s true, Jim. But from my experience I will guess that for every solid book in the B&N “Christianity” section there’s about 100 garbage titles and that’s no exaggeration.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

