The Moms in my life

I hope all of my readers who are mothers have a joyful Mother’s Day tomorrow!MOM

My own mother died two years ago and I miss her a lot. Our family was Roman Catholic and I’ve mentioned several times that, in our house, “faith” meant going to church on Sundays and that was pretty much it. Nobody mentioned Jesus during the week in our house. Nobody read the Bible. Nobody prayed. But my Mom’s love for me was unfailing. When they talk about unconditional love, that was my Mom’s love for me. Her love was palpable.

I accepted Jesus as my Savior about ten years after I married my wife. I had several conversations about Jesus and the Gospel with my parents but they weren’t receptive at all. Their attitude was, “You may have gotten yourself mixed up with this “Jesus thing” but we’re sticking with the ol’ tried and true that’s been around for two thousand years.” Sigh.

My Mom came down with Alzheimer’s toward the end of her life and it became progressively more difficult to communicate with her. About a month before she died, we visited her down in Florida. It was very hard to have any kind of conversation but one day, out of the blue, she turned to my wife and I and recited the 23rd Psalm:

The Lord is my shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me to lie down in green pastures;
He leads me beside the still waters.
He restores my soul;
He leads me in the paths of righteousness
For His name’s sake.
Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil;
For You are with me;
Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies;
You anoint my head with oil;
My cup runs over.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
All the days of my life;
And I will dwell in the house of the Lord
Forever.

She said the entire psalm perfectly, without missing one word. My Mom obviously had God and her own mortality on her mind when she went to the trouble to memorize that psalm years earlier and it stuck with her right to the end despite the ravages of her illness. Was she trusting in the Lord as her Salvation? I hope so.

My wife’s mother died thirty-two years ago of emphysema. If you smoke you might want to consider quitting. Like, tomorrow! My wife and I had accepted Christ only a few months before her mother died. That was no coincidence. We were able to share the Gospel with her several times and she did accept Jesus.

I married my beautiful wife almost forty-two years ago. We’ve had our ups and downs like any couple but our marriage is stronger than ever, especially after I returned to the Lord two years ago. My wife is an extraordinary Mom to our two sons and four grandchildren. What a blessing she is to me and our family! Thank you, Jesus!

“Her children arise and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: ‘Many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.’” – Proverbs 31:28-29

Bountiful blessings to all of the mothers in the Lord!

12 thoughts on “The Moms in my life

  1. First, sorry for losss.

    As you may remember, my Mother passed just a few weeks back. I was very concerned about her relationship with Jesus. She was raised Cumberland Presbyterian, so she heard the truth. She, never, however, even hardly mentioned God house. We didn’t even have a Bible in our home. So, when I was saved I tried to talk to her about it. She told my wife, “Your husband is a jack ass.” Her word not mine LOL. The conversations didn’t really go well.

    So, I sicked other people on her, like one of her nephews who she adored, and when she moved to her new place a while back, the couple who ran the place.

    I have been assured by both that she turned the corner before she died and either returned to the faith she had as a child or accepted it as an adult.

    So…I shall see her again by most accounts..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Wally. And I’m sorry as well for your very recent loss, especially as we come up on Mother’s Day. I hope for your Mom as well as mine. Sounds like she accepted Christ. My Mom heard the Gospel also. When we get home eventually, I hope to see several whose faith wasn’t so apparent or obvious.

      Like

      1. My mom always said she was saved, but the things she said and did seemed to make that seem ludicrous to be honest.

        I will share a story if you don’t mind. Now, in the work I am part of, we “preach” funerals. Our preachers do, I mean. Generally, if one of them does your funeral, you get a sermon. I mean, what a chance to talk about eternity when all those people are thinking about it. Not all works or denominations do that, and the one my mom sort of claimed to be part of does not. It’s very generic and non offensive for the most part.blah, blah, and more blah if you follow me.

        My step sister had asked me if I wanted to say anything at the service, and I had actually declined. So, we did our thing. Another stepson spoke, and then the “Preacher” did his thing. It became quite obvious that nothing of substance in regard to God, Jesus, death, salvation, or eternity was going to be in the offering. I could feel the Holy Spirit pressing on me to step up, and I resisted because I was not really on the approved list to speak. He wouldn’t let me go, though, when the wanna be preacher was done I said I had some comments after all. Well, it wasn’t but about 5 minutes, but they got their sermon after all.

        The best thing Tom? My kids were there. Where could they go? Ha…no running or saying they don’t want to really talk about all that. They stared death right in the face and heard the Gospel loud and clear.

        Thanks for the room here Tom

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks, Wally. Probably only a small percentage of churches actually preach the Gospel these days, especially way up here in NY. Glad you took the bull by the horns, that’s the Holy Spirit. I was able to give out a truncated Gospel at my Mom’s service. Well, my wife and I will make sure the Gospel is given out at our funerals and hope our family hears it many times before then!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Cheryl. As my Mom recited the psalm, my wife and I looked at each other with our eyes bugged out and our mouths wide open. It was a moment we’ll always remember and cherish.

      Like

  2. I believe her reciting of Psalm 23 was God’s gift to you, giving evidence that she was trusting in him. God doesn’t demand that we know only and all truths about him but that we submit to him as God. My parents both died devout Catholics, but Jesus was their Lord, and I expect to see them again in Heaven. One of the things I need to keep reminding myself of is not to underestimate the mercy of God. He wants all to be saved and so has made it as easy as possible without compromising his righteousness.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, Caroline. We also thought the Lord was giving us a sign through my Mom’s recitation of Psalm 23. Yes, as we’ve talked about, I believe many people are not savvy when it comes to theological details and terminology but put their trust in the Lord for their salvation like the tax collector in Luke 18.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

