Catholicism: Chasing your tail towards “holiness”

I listen to Catholic radio podcasts just about every weekday. It’s both a sad and comical experience. Instead of acceptingweb-dog-tail-RF-corbis Jesus Christ as their Savior, Catholics are forever chasing their tails in a religious frenzy trying to merit their salvation.

Today I was listening to the 2/20/15 edition of the “Calling All Catholics” radio show featured on the Station of the Cross – 101.7 FM, Buffalo, New York, with canon lawyer, “father” Bob Zilliox, answering questions from callers.

Here are a few sadly entertaining calls to “father” Bob that I will paraphrase:

Caller #1: Hi Father. Some people arrive at mass late and some leave early. For what parts of the mass is attendance absolutely required for a person to fulfill their weekly obligation?

Father Bob: Everyone should try to be there for the entire mass but if a person is present from the start of the gospel (reading) to the end of the consecration (“This is my body, this is my blood”) they will have fulfilled their obligation.

My comment: Going to mass every Sunday is one of the many ways Catholics must earn their salvation but questions like this one reveal what a drudgery it is for many Catholics to have to sit through the same old liturgical rigmarole. The Catholic church teaches it’s a “mortal” sin to miss Sunday mass but 76% of Catholics would rather sleep in and read the Sunday paper despite the threat of eternal condemnation. But since pope Francis said even atheists will go to Heaven if they’re “good,” lapsed Catholics figure they’ll take their chances and stay home and watch ESPN’s NFL Sunday Countdown show.

Caller #2: Good afternoon, Father Bob. I’m a volunteer at my church and I clean every week. Last Saturday I was vacuuming the sanctuary carpet and I accidentally sucked up a piece of a blessed palm branch. I didn’t know what to do so I just kept on working but my conscience is really bothering me. What advice can you give me, Father?

Father Bob: Sacramentals such as the piece of palm branch you vacuumed up are blessed objects and should be treated with reverence. But this case was an accident so don’t feel bad about it.

My comment: Catholicism is a hierarchical pyramid with the pope, cardinals, bishops, and priests at the top and everyone else at the bottom. The clergy allegedly have powers ordained by God that the laity don’t have, like the ability to bestow “blessings” on people or objects. If an item is “blessed” by a cleric it is allegedly endowed with spiritual qualities that protect and bless the possessor and must be treated with great respect. Folks, this is anti-Biblical, pagan voodoo superstition. Imagine this poor woman fretting for days about vacuuming up a piece of a palm branch. Ach! Does anyone see Christ in any of this???

Caller #3: Hi, Father Bob. I have a Catholic relative who passed away and is being buried in a public cemetery. Is there any advantage to being buried in a Catholic cemetery?

Father Bob: Priests can bless individual grave sites at public cemeteries but at Catholic cemeteries the entire property is formally consecrated and therefore graced, gifted, and blessed so there is a great advantage in being buried there.

My comment: I’ve accepted Jesus Christ as my Savior. Because of Jesus I walk with Him now and I’ll continue walking with Him the moment after I take my final breath here on earth. They can do whatever they want with my physical body. Being buried in a “blessed” cemetery won’t make a bit of difference to all the “religious” people who were counting on their obedience to the Ten Commandments (impossible!) and church rules to save them. The only “advantage” to be had is by the Catholic in$titution$ that own the “blessed” cemeteries.

Praise the Lord for freeing me from the chains and superstition of Roman Catholicism and saving me by His grace through faith in Jesus Christ alone! Accept Christ as your Savior and find an Evangelical church in your area that preaches the Gospel of grace.

2 thoughts on “Catholicism: Chasing your tail towards “holiness”

  1. Wonderful responses to all questions. You demonstrate how far afield this Roman institution has become with regard to its affiliation and focus on Christ. The comparison of catholic rigmarole with voodoo and superstition hits the nail on the head. These are all Roman conventions from another era and have no coorelation the the teachings and examples of Jesus Christ. Although the catholic church can be considered Christian, that emphasis gets shrouded in all the layers of distraction toward unrelated concerns.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank so much! Yes, I believe there are many Catholics who have genuinely accepted Jesus Christ as their Savior and are trusting in Him alone, but they are saved in spite of their church’s standard theology.

      Like

Leave a Reply

